A Burst of Color

Here is another shot from the streets of Calgary. This girl just stood out to me because of her cool sweater. She was a burst of color in a sea of regular jackets and hoodies. I don’t know who makes that sweater, but it’s great!

Note: This photo was shot at f2 with a Canon 135mm L. The picture was cropped and would have had better bokeh if I was closer to the subject.ย 

Girl on 7th Calgary - Rob Moses Photography

Camera: Canon 5Diii & 135L – Settings: 1/1000 // f2 // ISO 100

I will be hitting the streets again tonight to try and find another stranger to talk to about Calgary. Hopefully it goes as well as it did last time ๐Ÿ™‚

15 comments

  1. Boomdeeadda · January 11, 2013

    Awesome, I’m going to start Document to save photography info and take notes for my glass…first entry is Bokeh. Interesting way to hi-light a subject…I like that shot. Good luck tonight.

    • Rob Moses · January 11, 2013

      Thank you! Ya shallow depth of field is definitely a great way to hi-light a subject. Have fun in your class ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Boomdeeadda · January 11, 2013

        Thank you Rob, if you want to check out Daryl’s professional site, it’s here: He also gave a Photoshop class last winter that I took, awesome guy.

        http://www.darylbenson.com/

      • Rob Moses · January 11, 2013

        Nice! Thanks for the link. I’ll take a look ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Boomdeeadda · January 11, 2013

    duh ^^ ‘notes for my class.

  3. ckponderings · January 11, 2013

    Nice colours, definitely! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • toniagregory · January 12, 2013

      Love how it’s so vivid and busy!

      • Rob Moses · January 12, 2013

        Thank you! Ya it’s a good spot ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Krista · January 12, 2013

    Wow, that really is an awesome shot! Beautiful pop of color, I also like her sweater. haha

    • Rob Moses · January 12, 2013

      Thank you Krista! Ya the sweater is wicked for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. coyotero2112 · January 14, 2013

    Your subject stands out in that crowd light a guiding beacon, or a lighthouse…a leader, in more ways than one. My second thought was – I don’t own as much clothing as all the people in the photo are wearing. Makes for quick laundry days. Enjoying your posts…good idea. Later.

    • Rob Moses · January 14, 2013

      Thank you very much! Must be nice to have the minimal clothing thing going on ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish it where warmer in Calgary haha.

  6. Glenn · January 22, 2013

    I like the “pop” of the colours. What kind of editing/treatment do you use on your photos?

    • Rob Moses · January 22, 2013

      Thank you Glenn,

      For this photo I cropped it down a some, did some curve adjustments, saturation boost, added a vignette and then sharpen ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Rob Moses Photography · March 4, 2013

    Reblogged this on Rob Moses Photography and commented:
    Another post from my People of Calgary project. I’ll probably add some of these street shots in here from time to time ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

