Kate – Toronto to Calgary

Today’s Calgary person was handed to me on a silver platter. Ok maybe not quite a silver platter, but I didn’t have to walk up to her on the street like I was a 16 year old trying to get her to buy me a case of beer! This little interaction was a set up. NICE πŸ™‚ Anyhow, this is Kate and here is what she had to say.

Kate 4 - People of Calgary - Rob Moses Photography
Camera: 5Diii & 135L – Settings: 1/250th // f2 // ISO 25000

1. Where are you from?
Originally Toronto.

2. Why did you moved to Calgary of all places?
We moved here because my husband got a job offer here and they offered to pay for the move. So we were like “Ok, well if we don’t like it we’ll leave”.

3. Do you like living in Calgary?
Yes. I miss Toronto, I miss the city, but we like the mountains, skiing, hiking and stuff. And the slower pace of life here.

4. What is it about Calgary that you like? Even though you kind of answered that already.
The stuff outside of the city, more than the city it’s self.

5. What do you like to do for fun?
Ski, well before baby (laughter and a look to her 1 year old daughter playing near by), hike, we like to go out with friends to bars, have people over, board games and stuff.

6. If you had to describe Calgary to some one, what would you say?
Friendly.

7. Have you ever ridden a horse?
Yes, ironically I used to horseback ride back in Toronto and I moved here and never found a barn.
Rob: What! That’s crazy! haha.
Kate: So yes I do ride.
Rob: Nice.

8. Anything you’d like to add?
We like the opportunities here, so that’s why we stayed. It’s home now.

* Thank you for talking to me Kate! πŸ™‚

11 comments

  1. Boomdeeadda · January 17, 2013

    That’s hysterical that Kate can’t find a barn in the Stampede City….what the what?

    • Rob Moses · January 17, 2013

      Haha I never even thought about that! That’s funny. Maybe she just couldn’t find one she liked πŸ™‚

  2. Filio Kondylis · January 17, 2013

    the shot of Kate is awesome, I also like how the interview gives us an idea of who this person is and our country/Calgary. People move all the time, leaving family and friends to start a new life. This would make a great book, Calgary is a place where many people come from different parts of Canada. Great work.

    • Rob Moses · January 17, 2013

      Thank you very much about the photo and the blog Filio! πŸ™‚

  3. jmeyersforeman · January 17, 2013

    Great post, you seem to have an nice easy way with people. It can be difficult approaching people on the street, I always get the feeling that people are guarded, and want to know what I am selling or what I want from them……
    Kate has a great smile, and this is a great photo!

    • Rob Moses · January 17, 2013

      Totally agreed! I often feel the exact same way haha πŸ™‚ but it’s fun and exciting at the same time. Plus it’s always fun to meet new people, so it’s well worth it I’d say.

  4. leo brady · January 18, 2013

    A compilation of these interviews and photos might make a nice book for the people of Calgary.

    • Rob Moses · January 18, 2013

      Hey Leo, That’s funny you mention that, because some one else just said the same thing yesterday! πŸ™‚ Maybe I should think about doing that at some point? I guess I’d have to start getting people to sign a release. Maybe I’ll do that.

  5. Doris · January 18, 2013

    I did not know there were mountains in Calgary and that is more calmer, good post, she seems nice and what a great photo.

    • Rob Moses · January 18, 2013

      Thanks πŸ™‚ Ya the mountains aren’t to far off. Some wicked ski hills in the area.

  6. Ron Scubadiver · January 19, 2013

    She is lovely.

Leave a Reply

