Violet – Studio Photographer & Artist

So today I saw a guy walking along with a empty tray of food at the Eau Claire Market. I figured, this guy can’t be too busy, so I asked him if he would be interested in being on the blog. After I told him about it he informed me that he had a studio in the building and told me the girl there would probably be into it. Off Yoshi went to dispose of his empty tray and away I went to meet this girl.

In the studio I found a very cool and easy going girl named Violet. I told her Yoshi had sent me and explained to her about the blog. To no surprise she was into it ๐Ÿ™‚ Here is what Violet had to say about Calgary.

Violet - Calgary of Calgary - Rob Moses Photography

Camera: 5Diii & 135L – Settings: 1/125th // f2 // ISO 3200

1. Where are you from?
I’m from Ontario, but I was born in BC.

2. Why did you moved to Calgary of all places?
The music scene and the economy.

3. Do you like living in Calgary?
I do, it’s pretty fun!

4. What is it about Calgary that you like?
Everyday is a new adventure here.

5. What do you like to do for fun?
I do art and music and a lot of different things. I was tie-dyeing and making music. We have different cook off’s, gingerbread making parties. Lots of things, my friends are musical. Art days and I have a few different photography jobs.
Rob: Well ya, I’m standing here in a studio with you (laughter).
Violet: It’s pretty fun.
Rob: Ya, we have things in common.

6. If you had to describe Calgary to some one, what would you say?
Hmmm, (laughter) I’m not sure, I would say that it’s like (pause), Toronto but with a home town feel.

7. Have you ever ridden a horse?
Ya lots, but not here (laughter)

8. Anything youโ€™d like to add? Website or anything?
My website? Sure, you can find me on facebook at Vybe Visuals or google Violet Brown and you’ll find me.

* Thank you Yoshi and Violet for being so cool! Had a fun time talking shop in the studio with you guys.

13 comments

  1. Boomdeeadda · January 19, 2013

    Well how cute is she? You’re on a real adventure, I’d be to chicken to follow strangers to their ‘studio’. I didn’t realize there was a big music scene in Calgary, mind you I’m past my ‘pub’ days…I’m recording SNL tonight, the Lumineers are on, Wa-who, (or should I say Ho-Hey) I love them.

    • Rob Moses · January 19, 2013

      Haha SNL is great! ๐Ÿ™‚ But ya Violet is super cute! And your right, I am definitely on quite an adventure with this blog. It’s super fun!

  2. jarch21 · January 19, 2013

    awesome happy portrait! She really comes out of it! Seems you have really captured her personality ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Rob Moses · January 19, 2013

      Thanks! Ya this is a super fun picture for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. coyotero2112 · January 21, 2013

    Rob, love this lot of bit of color. I’ve thought of doing something similar to what you’re doing here. The trouble with that is how many people in Latin American hideouts are hiding from something…so many of them have something to lose by foregoing their anonymity. Hmmmmm….
    Keep up the good work.
    Later

    • Rob Moses · January 21, 2013

      Thank you very much! I have really been enjoying the project and meeting new people. I can understand your reluctancy regarding approaching some people in your area haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. jaggh53163 · January 23, 2013

    Congratulations !!! I’ve nominated you for the Leibster Blog Award. Apparently, last night at 3 AM when I was correcting my nominations, you didn’t get the updated, correct one. My ignorance in this whole world of blogging is showing.
    This is the correct link:
    http://www.greatestgenerationlessons.wordpress.com

    • Rob Moses · January 23, 2013

      No ignorance at all. Not to worry ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you again!

  5. Doris · January 28, 2013

    she is so colorful have to check her art….god post!

  6. Debbie Brown · February 17, 2013

    Violet is beautiful. I checked out the link to her art website, and I think her art and photography are beautiful too! Nice to see someone young interviewed, and get their perspective .

    • Rob Moses · February 18, 2013

      Yes Violet is cool for sure! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Brett · February 17, 2013

    Rob, this a great picture with lots of personality.

    • Rob Moses · February 18, 2013

      Haha personality for sure! Violet is cool ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

