Waiting for Trains

I went out on a street shooting mission today and I got a bunch of good photos that I am happy with. This one is was the very last shot I took before I hopped on the train home and is probably my favourite from the day.

Platform Calgary - Rob Moses Photography

Camera: Canon 7D & 50mm 1.8 mk 1 – Settings: 1/100th // f1.8 // ISO 400

On a fun little side note I bumped in toΒ KrisΒ while I was enjoying a coffee on Stephen Ave. The more I go out and bump into people I know the more I feel like a real Calgarian, dare I say I am becoming one ;).

24 comments

  1. findingpaola · February 23, 2013

    I think the next camera I want to own for my blog is the 7D. Do you love it? Do you prefer other cameras compared to it? Do you think it’s worth the price? So many questions! I really like that photo. πŸ™‚

    • Rob Moses · February 23, 2013

      Thank you regarding the photo :). As for the 7D, yes it is a wonderful camera. I love everything about. With that said, the Canon 5D mark 2 is now coming down to a reasonable price, so you might want to consider that one too. However, with the 7D you get a million times better auto focus and the ability to control off camera flash, which the 5D does not have. If your only going to have one camera, you can’t go wrong with a 7D :D.

  2. Filio Kondylis · February 23, 2013

    Nice one, Rob. How wonderful to feel part of a community. I’m enjoying your posts and feeling as if I am getting to know Calgary. Can’t wait for summer when all of the festivals are happening and we get to see what’s going on through you’re camera lens.

    • Rob Moses · February 23, 2013

      Thank you and thank you for reading up on the blog πŸ™‚ And yes, I can’t wait for summer either!

  3. Inge · February 23, 2013

    Love your DoF. πŸ™‚ Great shot!

  4. Ron Scubadiver · February 24, 2013

    Rob, the guy with the beard does photography, but I also remember he is trying to sell something, so he reaches out any way that he can. I see a lot of photographers who do mediocre work but get 150 likes per post. They reach out and others reciprocate. Some of us are retired…

    • Rob Moses · February 24, 2013

      Hey Ron, Thank for the investigative report on the beard guy lol. I suppose when I retire (if I ever do) I’ll be ripping on this stuff like crazy too! πŸ˜‰

  5. Boomdeeadda · February 24, 2013

    I really fancy B&W’s, the contrasts can elevate the everyday into art. What I like about living downtown is the ability to walk to the same businesses everyday, like the coffee shop or market. It makes the community feel a little smaller if you can include familiar faces in the daily routine. Cheers!

  6. ajaytao2010 · February 25, 2013

    I Nominate you for the The Liebster Blog Award
    Please accept & oblige.

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/the-liebster-award/

    • Rob Moses · February 25, 2013

      Thank you very much for thinking of me πŸ™‚

      • ajaytao2010 · February 25, 2013

        thanks my dear friend for accepting the award

  7. Pingback: The Liebster Award | Ajaytao 2010
  8. Ron Scubadiver · February 26, 2013

    That comment you left about the guy who gives lots of likes has sat with me for a while. One of the things I notice is how much low quality content is on wordpress.com. Too many people taking pictures of flowers.

  9. Kavita Joshi · February 27, 2013

    very beautiful shot…I am thinking of getting a good camera soon…

    • Rob Moses · February 27, 2013

      Thank you! You should Definitely get yourself a good camera! πŸ™‚

  10. littledoglaughed · February 28, 2013

    This image tells a great story. And it is all the more interesting because of the black and white. Very nicely done.
    Thank you too for stopping by my blog. I do appreciate it.

    • Rob Moses · February 28, 2013

      No problem! Thank you too for stopping by here πŸ™‚

  11. Ron Scubadiver · February 28, 2013

    Rob, as it happens, I am waiting for a plane right now.

    • Rob Moses · February 28, 2013

      Ah nice! Where are you going? Hope it’s a good flight πŸ˜‰

  12. Minkee Robinson · March 1, 2013

    There is something so elegant about B&W photography. Contrast and composition trump color sometimes.

  13. Brett · March 24, 2013

    This nicely captures waiting, anticipation and the unexpected. Well done shot.

    • Rob Moses · April 24, 2013

      Thank you very much! I rather enjoy this one also πŸ™‚ Happy to hear you totally get it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

