Dusty – Craigslist Connection

A couple months ago I was going to sell one of my camera lenses. I posted the lens on craigslist and got reply from some one rather keen to buy it. Immediately I re-thought selling the lens and decided it would be a good idea to keep the lens around for a back up. Of course this is totally an un-cool thing to do, but the person interested in the lens was totally understanding about the situation and my decistion. That person was Dusty! Over the next couple months we exchanged emails about photography and such. I told Dusty about the blog and asked him if he would be interested in being on it and he was! So here’s what he had to say.

Dusty - Rob Moses Photography Portrait Calgary Vancouver Seattle Spokane
Camera: Canon 5Diii & 135L – Settings: 1/200th // f2 // ISO 100

1. Where are you from?
I was born and raised in Sarnia, Ontario. But I’ve been in Calgary since 89, so 24 years. I’d say I’m more Calgarian than anything else.

2. Why did you moved to Calgary of all places?
I moved here with my mom and brother when I was 16. She was transferred for work. I started high school at Ernest Manning in grade 11 and loved it! There was so much more to do in Calgary.

3. Do you like living in Calgary?
Love living here. The people are nice, business is good, there are a ton of activities for both the kids and parents. Calgary is so close to the mountains it’s a quick and easy to escape. We are very lucky to have so many things to do and see every day. The parks are absolutely incredible! You can get lost in some of them and they’re in the middle of the city. One of the best aspects of Calgary though is the people, they’re friendly, open minded and respectful.

4. What is it about Calgary that you like?
Calgary is a great place to raise a family, have lots of fun and do your own thing.

5. What do you like to do for fun?
For fun, I like to go swimming and skating in the winter and hit the mountains. Biking, golfing and hit the mountains in the summer. The family really enjoys going to the mountains all year round. There are so many things to see and do. Last year I took my wife white water rafting, it was her first time and she loved it! Lately my passion has been photography. I find as I get older, I need a slower paced hobby haha.

6. If you had to describe Calgary to some one, what would you say?
Big, Calgary is a large city with a wide variety of terrain. If you plan on visiting us, ensure you have access to a car!

7. Have you ever ridden a horse?
I have indeed ridden on a horse once. I was about 5 years old and we went in a circle a few times.

8. Anything you’d like to add?
I would like to say to all of the Calgarians out there reading this or anyone anywhere, get out and enjoy your city. There are so many places to go and things to do in the city. Go, have some fun and meet new people. I did and ended up on this blog haha!

15 comments

  1. Boomdeeadda · March 2, 2013

    We’d love to be closer to the mountains, you’re really lucky for that. I drove thru Calgary last summer on my way home from Lower Arrow Lake, it’s near Castlegar. Holy man, I was scared to death on the Deer Foot, I hit it a rush hour. You all are nuts on that road LOL

    • Rob Moses · March 3, 2013

      Haha ya the Deer Foot(city freeway) can get pretty gnarly! haha. And yes being close to the mountains is great. I need to get out there more often. Banff is the best!

  2. coyotero2112 · March 3, 2013

    Great…a talker. Not a relative or soul mate to the guy who answered every question in three words or less. Had to like him too, though – economical with words !
    Later…

    • Rob Moses · March 3, 2013

      Hahaha ya Kris and his chick were rather minimalist’s when it came to words 😉

  3. coyotero2112 · March 3, 2013

    I think I should interview you sometime. You’ll have to handle the camera work.
    Later…

  4. Spencer Hall · March 3, 2013

    Hi Rob, I really like your project on this site. Having grown up in Calgary I can relate to some of your observations, although sometimes I think it takes an outsider to reveal all the nuance behind a city’s character. I’ve since moved away (to Toronto), but each time I visit I see something in a new light. I like how distance gives us that ability to appreciate things. All this is to say thanks for your great photographs of the people of my hometown.
    Cheers,
    Spencer

    • Rob Moses · March 3, 2013

      Thank you very much for your kind comment Spencer. I actually used to live in Toronto too! It’s a great city. Anyhow, thanks for stopping by and I hope you do again 🙂

  5. ckponderings · March 3, 2013

    Great portrait, and a fine example of fate! 😀

  6. goplayintraffic · March 3, 2013

    Hi. I enjoy your blog. I do not know how you feel about blogging awards, but I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.
    I am new to all of this so I hope it is okay.
    More details at http://goplayintraffic.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/go-play-in-traffic-nominated-for-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    • Rob Moses · March 3, 2013

      Thank you very much. I have been nominated for a few of these in the past but I honestly cant be bothered with it all haha. However, I appreciate the sentiment! Thank you again 🙂

  7. Graffiti Lux and Murals · March 3, 2013

    Another neat interview! I love hearing from the people of Calgary. Thanks Rob!

  8. Doris · March 5, 2013

    At the end there, he is right we should enjoy the city we lived in, he has great personality and like the comment of the horse too.

    • Rob Moses · March 5, 2013

      Haha ya he’s a good guy for sure 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Doris!

Leave a Reply

